WJMC Day 3!

Let me start off by telling you, last night sucked. For some odd reason, I only got to bed at three in the morning! I guess I was so tired that I wasn’t tired.

I woke up at about 6:30 and went through the same morning routine as yesterday. Wake up, get dressed, makeup, hair, breakfast. Today for breakfast, I had french toast, eggs and potatoes. Everything was really good EXCEPT my orange juice tasted like straight up water but I didn’t really care, a girl’s gotta drink something! Another thing that made me upset about breakfast was the tiny plates. I know, Baylee, big deal. GET OVER IT. Imagine trying to fit three spoonfuls of potatoes, two pieces of french toast and a heaping of eggs onto a little 4 x 10 plate plus syrup that made my potatoes soggy, ugh. Those  things are honestly my fault but oh well, I still enjoyed it.

After that, we went straight to the buses to go to National Geographic. This place was huge and by huge I mean giant and by giant I mean ginormous! We went into this auditorium and it was really pretty. The stage was huge, the projection screen was huge, the blue lights shined as a backdrop, it was pretty rad. A lady named Susan Goldberg came onto the stage. She’s the editorial director for Nat Geo, meaning she’s a pretty big deal.She talked all things about the company and gave us a couple tips, too. She also showed us a lot of pictures for upcoming stories, which was awesome! It’s amazing how talented these photojournalists are.

After that, we went out for lunch at Buca di Beppo, a cute little Italian restaurant. The vegetarian meal they offered me and my fellow veggies at WJMC was a eggplant parm. It was probably the best eggplant parm I’ve ever had, besides homemade, nothing beats a good home-cooked meal. Then for dessert, we had cheesecake. It was so good. I’m a sucker for cheesecake.

After lunch, we went  to George Mason University’s  Founders Hall to hear two more speakers, Mr. Brian Lamb and Mrs. Jamie Smith. Mr. Lamb was a really good speaker, one of the best yet and possibly my favorite. Instead of us asking him the questions, he asked us. He pushed us because he knew that we know what we’re talking about. It was amazing. Mrs. Smith talked about her backstory and how to always keep hope because good things happen to everyone. She was really bubbly and she threw in a sense of humor into her stories, too.

We then ate dinner at the Exchange. Let me tell you, this was a bad experience. The seating arrangements were awful, the good was only decent and we had to sit outside in 90 degree humid weather. That’s all I’m going to say about that.

Next was the Twilight Monument Tour. We visited two monuments, the WWII and Lincoln memorials. They were both beautiful and I got some pretty good pictures of everything there. You’ll see those pictures in the next entry.

I’ll leave it at that! It’s already past midnight and your girl needs some sleep, goodnight and sorry for the short entry today.

Leave a Reply

